You can now access the list of Plenary, Semi-Plenary speakers and Mini-Colloquium under the programme tab!

Physics in 2D Nanoarchitectonics

  • César Moreno
  • Aran Garcia-Lekue
  • Rasmita Raval
  • Aitor Mugarza

Materials with novel and highly tunable physicochemical functionalities can be manufactured by nanostructuring bulk 2D materials, such as graphene or transition metal dicalchogenides, or by combining them in lateral heterostructures or stacks. These strategies can turn metals into semiconductors, induce magnetism or superconductivity, or introduce tailored reactivity and permeability. Moreover, nanostructuring can generate inplane anisotropy in otherwise isotropic crystalline structures, turning them into highly valuable materials for applications such as electron and plasmon wave guiding, optomechanics, 2D logic operations, or anisotropic thermoelectrics. Complementary to this “top-down” approach is the “bottom-up” 2D nanoarchitectonics where it is possible to design new molecular materials by the covalent or coordinative self-assembly of organic and hybrid building blocks. This can lead to 2D metal-organic (MOF) and covalent (COF) frameworks, for example with Kagome and honeycomb lattice structure that combine Dirac electrons with flat bands, and where exotic quantum phases such as topological or quantum anomalous Hall insulators can emerge. Both “top-down” and “bottom-up” approaches are progressing rapidly towards achieving novel nanostructures and devices.

This symposium will focus on the emerging physics of functional 2D nanoarchitectures, covering all relevant theoretical and experimental aspects, such as synthesis and characterization of their electrical, optical, thermal, and mechanical properties. The aim is to facilitate discussion about the latest advances and challenges, and to stimulate the generation of new ideas in the highly active field of nanoarchitectured 2D materials.

Tentative list of invited speakers
1) Mads Brandbyge (DTU, Technical University of Denmark)
2) Eda Goki (National University of Singapore)
3) Rainer Hillenbrand (Nanogune)
4) Leonhard Grill (University of Graz)
5) Nuria Aliaga (ICREA-ICMAB, Barcelona)

Key dates

Early registration deadline:

5 June 2022

Registration deadline:

21 July 2022


The programme is complemented by a large physics and physics instrumentation exhibition proposed by the conference’s partners. If you wish to exhibit at this conference, you can find more information here.

Jointly organised by the EPS and IOP